Tuesday, October 3

Annual Hall of Fame induction, TROJY Awards Show set for Wednesday

By Andrew Preston

For the second consecutive year, the Athletic Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held during the spring semester with the 2nd annual TROJY Awards Show immediately following.

The athletic department sponsored event has modeled their end-of-the-year award ceremony for Trojan athletes after the popular ESPY Award (Excellence in Sports Yearly) show produced by major broadcast television network, ABC.

“Our goal is to overlap the old, with the new,” said Athletic Director, Mark Elliott. “Last year was our first time hosting the TROJYs and also the first time hosting the Hall of Fame induction in the spring.”

Photo provided by TNU Trojans

The annual athletic Hall of Fame induction ceremonies have historically been held in the fall during Homecoming weekend, something Elliott wanted to change.

“In between the basketball games (at Homecoming) was not the best time for our Hall of Fame inductions because everyone was wanting to visit.”

Elliott says student-athletes never got a chance to see the Hall of Fame inductees, prompting him to change the order events, and allowing for one giant celebratory night for the athletic department.

“We are going to reintroduce the Hall of Fame inductees during the TROJYs, and have them walk through the student-athletes on the purple carpet,” said Elliott.

The purple carpet being the Trojans spin-off of the famed red carpet, celebrities walk on during formal award ceremonies such as the ESPYs.

Last year the TROJYs awarded Trevecca student athletes in areas such as Most outstanding athlete, Christian student-athlete of the year, Freshman of the year among several other categories.

New this year the Athletic Department will introduce the team of the year award, an 18th award to be won by student athletes.

“The team of the year award is awarded based upon team GPA, off the field contributions to the community, and on field success,” said Elliott.

Although most of the awards are voted upon and won by student-athletes, the coaches vote on the team of the year award, says Elliott.

The TROJYs will be preceded by the induction of three new members into the Trevecca Athletic Hall of Fame including former women’s soccer coach, Mark Foster. Angela Sullivan and Abby Lawson conclude this year’s class.

“I didn’t get to say a proper goodbye to the girls or my friends, so I am really excited to be back and see campus,” said Foster.

Foster will be making his first appearance back to Trevecca since parting ways with the women’s soccer program in early January.

“It will be a good opportunity to catch up with people, I can’t wait to see everybody,” said Foster.

Foster has been selected to introduce the Hall of Fame Class of 2017 and will join three former Trojan soccer players already elected in the Hall of Fame.

“I hope there is many more (soccer players) to come (into the Hall of Fame) in the future,” said Foster. “Soccer is relatively new at Trevecca compared to baseball or basketball, but soccer isn’t far behind. It’s important for me to be recognized for that reason.”

“It’s going to be special to have Coach Foster join us again at Trevecca,” said Elliott.

Foster chose his former head coach, Jeff Carr to introduce Foster at the Hall of Fame.
“He has a very important message to give to our student-athletes,” said Elliott.


When: April 26th @ 6 and 7:30 p.m.
Where: President’s Dining Room (HoF induction, invite only) and Boone Business Building (TROJYs)
Admission: Free
2016 TROJY Award Winners: 2016 Hall of Fame Class:
Most Outstanding Athletes (Female/Male): Byron Sanford/ Haley Fagan Katie Carter Douglas – Volleyball
Christian Student-Athletes of the Year (Female/Male): 

Chris Elliott / Anna Hoffman

Brittiany Johnson Tate – Softball
Scholar Athletes Award (Female/Male): 

Hannah Cole/ Zach Tompkins

Mariska Reed Harris – Basketball
Freshmen of the Year (Female/Male): 

Jesse Peters/ Clare Taylor

Jeff Forehand – Baseball Coach
Off the Field Award: Abbie Alosi Jack “Pops” Duncan – Meritorious Service
Comeback Player of the Year: Ethan Hurt Ron Bargatze – Meritorious Service Coach
Fan of the Year Award: Matt Deal
Michael Pretorius Courage Award: Michael Pretorius

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: